Other Free Encyclopedias » Famous Sports Stars » Auto Racing » A. J. Foyt Biography - Born To Drive, The Move To Indy Cars, Chronology, No Pain, No Gain - CONTACT INFORMATION

A. J. Foyt - Awards And Accomplishments

record car indianapolis wins

Foyt won a career record seven Indy car national championships (1960-61, 1963-64, 1967, 1975, and 1979).
Foyt won a career record sixty-seven Indy car races.
Foyt won a career record nine 500-mile races (the Indianapolis 500 in 1961, 1964, 1967, and 1977; the Pocono 500 in 1973, 1975, 1979, and 1981; and the California 500 in 1975).
Foyt is the only driver who has won the Indianapolis 500, the Daytona 500, and the 24 Hours of Le Mans.
Foyt is the only driver who has won the Indianapolis 500 in both a front-engine and a rear-engine race car.
Foyt's USAC career record for total victories is 158. He is the only driver who has won twenty or more victories in USAC's four major categories: Indy cars, stock cars, sprint cars, and midget cars.
1960-61, 1963-64, 1967, 1975, 1979 National Indy car championship
1961 Wins Indianapolis 500 race at an average speed of 139.130 mph, a new race record
1961 Wins record twenty USAC (United States Auto Club) races in one year
1964 Wins Indianapolis 500 at an average speed of 147.350, a new race record
1964 Wins a record ten Indy car season victories (out of thirteen starts)
1965 Wins a record ten pole positions in Indy cars this season, including the Indianapolis 500
1967 Wins Indianapolis 500 at an average speed of 151.207 mph, a new race record
1967 Foyt and teammate, Dan Gurney, become the first Americans to win France's 24 Hours of Le Mans race
1968, 1978 USAC stock car championship
1972 Daytona 500
1972 USAC dirt car championship
1977 Wins record fourth Indianapolis 500
1979 Becomes first driver to win USAC's national Indy car and stock car championships in the same season
1981 Wins record ninth victory in 500-mile Indy car races at the Pocono 500
1983, 1985 24 Hours of Daytona
1985 12 Hours of Sebring
1989 Inaugural inductee into the Motorsports Hall of Fame
1991 USAC and Championship Auto Racing Teams (CART) reserve the number fourteen for the exclusive use of Foyt as either a driver or team owner, to be retired upon Foyt's retirement from the sport; this is the first time either of the two organizations have retired a racing number
1992 Qualifies for record thirty-five consecutive Indianapolis 500 races
1993 Wins the American Sportscasters Association Sports Legend Award
1999 Foyt named Driver of the Century by the Associated Press (along with Mario Andretti)
A. J. Foyt - Foyt's Legacy [next] [back] A. J. Foyt - No Pain, No Gain

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or

Vote down Vote up

almost 5 years ago

Jaket bola online
Bola Fashion
Jaket bola Kw Thailand/a>
Kaos Anak Muslim